Home » Vuelta a Espana: Primoz Roglic extends lead as Magnus Cort Nielsen takes stage 16

Vuelta a Espana: Primoz Roglic extends lead as Magnus Cort Nielsen takes stage 16

by newsking24

Cort Nielsen (centre) takes the road in stage 16

Defending champion Primoz Roglic prolonged his lead on the Vuelta a Espana to 45 seconds after ending second in stage 16.

The 31-year-old Slovenian, who has gained 4 levels on this 12 months’s race, was edged out by Denmark’s Magnus Cort Nielsen.

Britain’s Hugh Carthy completed 28th and stays in third place, along with his deficit extending to 53 seconds.

The 18-stage occasion concludes in Madrid on Sunday.

France’s Remi Cavagna spent all day within the breakaway however was caught inside the ultimate three kilometres because the peloton elevated the tempo to create a denoument that Cort Nielsen edged.

Veteran Alejandro Valverde led the cost however Cort Nielsen powered residence to proceed what has been a powerful Vuelta for the American EF Pro Cycling group.

Roglic set free a roar of frustration as he crossed the road however strengthened his grip on a race he has led since changing Richard Carapaz by profitable stage 10.

The Tour de France runner-up now must protect his lead in Saturday’s 178km mountain stage, which options 5 categorised climbs on the street to Alto de La Covatilla, together with a 10km stretch at a mean of seven% to the summit end.

Stage 16 consequence

1. Magnus Cort Nielsen (Den/EF Pro Cycling) 4hrs 4mins 35secs

2. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma) similar time

3. Rui Costa (Por/UAE) “

4. Dion Smith (NZ/Mitchelton-Scott) “

5. Alejandro Valverde (Spa/Movistar) “

6. Richard Carapaz (Ecu/Ineos Grenadiers) “

7. Felix Grossschartner (Aut/Bora-Hansgrohe) “

8. Dorian Godon (Fra/AG2R la Mondiale) “

9. Michael Valgren (Den/NTT)

10. Jasha Sutterlin (Ger/Sunweb)

General classification after stage 16

1. Primoz Roglic (Slo/Jumbo-Visma) 64hrs 20minutes 31secs

2. Richard Carapaz (Ecu/Ineos Grenadiers) +45secs

3. Hugh Carthy (GB/EF Pro Cycling) +53secs

4. Dan Martin (Ire/Israel Start-Up Nation) +1min 48secs

5. Enric Mas (Spa/Movistar) +3mins 29secs

6. Wout Poels (Ned/Bahrain-McLaren) +6mins 21secs

7. Felix Grossschartner (Aut/Bora-Hansgrohe) +7mins 20secs

8. Alejandro Valverde (Spa/Movistar) +8mins 45secs

9. Aleksandr Vlasov (Rus/Astana) +8mins 54secs

10. David de la Cruz (Spa/UAE) +9mins 29secs

Around the BBC - SoundsAround the BBC footer - Sounds

Source hyperlink

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Select Language »
%d bloggers like this: