Home » Patrick Reed advantages from controversial drop in Farmers Insurance Open

Patrick Reed advantages from controversial drop in Farmers Insurance Open

by newsking24

Reed carded a two-under-par spherical of 70
-10 P Reed (US), C Ortiz (Mex); -8 S Burns (US), L Griffin (US), V Hovland (Nor), J Rahm (Spa), A Scott (Aus)
Selected others: -7 R McIlroy (NI); -6 T Finau (US), X Schauffele (US); -2 T Lewis (Eng), F Molinari (Ita)

American Patrick Reed benefitted from a controversial free drop to share the lead after the third spherical of the Farmers Insurance Open in California.

Reed’s second shot from a bunker on the 10th discovered the tough. Believing the ball was “embedded into the turf”, he moved it earlier than calling an official.

The official deemed it had been embedded, permitting Reed a drop. He then chipped on and holed the putt for par.

But TV replays confirmed the ball bounced as soon as earlier than settling into the tough.

“The rules official said we did it absolutely perfectly,” mentioned 30-year-old Reed, the 2018 Masters champion.

“When we’re out there, we can’t see everything and when that happens, you have to go by what the volunteers say, with what the rules officials say.

“When all involves push and shove, we felt like we did the best factor.”

Lift and place rules were under operation during the round after heavy overnight rainfall.

Speaking on television commentary while the incident played out, PGA Tour rules official Ken Tackett was asked whether he would advise players to mark the ball and call over an official rather than move it first.

“That’s at all times one of the best apply,” he said. “Leave the ball and watch for the official, simply because it eliminates any questions on the place the ball was.”

Speaking later, Tackett added: “Virtual certainty is a normal we use typically.

“As Patrick stated, he went through the process. Everyone felt the ball disappeared. The volunteers said it didn’t bounce. He checked to see if it was embedded. He called an official who confirmed it. He did all the things we ask of a player.”

When pushed in regards to the chance the ball couldn’t have embedded as a result of the ball bounced ahead, Tackett mentioned: “For everybody playing at home, it’s the same rule, you’re not afforded the video review and you base your decision off the witnesses there.

“I feel Patrick did an excellent job explaining his thought course of and that resulted in no penalty and we’re wonderful with the end result of the state of affairs.”

In December 2019 Reed was given a two-stroke penalty at the Hero World Challenge for improving the lie of his ball when he moved sand in a bunker with his practice swing.

Reed is 10 under at Torrey Pines, along with Mexico’s Carlos Ortiz, having picked up five shots before the turn.

After the drop incident, he bogeyed four of his next eight holes.

Reed and Ortiz lead by two photographs from a gaggle of 5 that features Spain’s Jon Rahm and Australian Adam Scott, whereas Northern Ireland’s Rory McIlroy is on seven below.

Source hyperlink

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Select Language »
%d bloggers like this: